A memorable farm-to-fork dining experience!

In 1607, the Susan Constant, Discovery, and Godspeed reached the shores of Virginia. After exploring several sites along the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay, the colonists, fearing pirates and Spanish competition, decided to explore further inland.


Captain Gabriel Archer, after whom the restaurant is named, proposed they settle on land where The Williamsburg Winery now stands.

In 1987 the Duffeler family constructed the Gabriel Archer Tavern on the footprints of an old farm shed on the grounds of Wessex Hundred. Originally, this first completed winery structure housed barrels, bottling equipment, and the finished wines.

Today, its mission is to provide a memorable farm-to-fork dining experience that’s both delicious and nourishing.